New Name! Airbrushed Nation

Standard

Hello!

 

Forgive me for being so lax in blogging lately, I’m literally up to my eyeballs in book edits and revisions and will be at it for a few more weeks. But on a side note I wanted to mention that my book just got a name change. Apparently the marketing gurus that be nixed Stiletto Nation! The word stiletto didn’t resound with the big bad book marketers and advertisers in the biz, since apparently they thought women don’t know what a stiletto is, or wear them!  I fought this fight early on, but I lost this round to a team of suits who may not know what women wear on their feet—but do know what resounds in the bookstores, apparently. So sadly, I had to let my old title go in favor of my new one:

Airbrushed Nation: The Lure and Loathing of Women’s Magazines!

 

So I’ve changed the blog name, too.

 

I hope Airbrushed Nation functions as a broader term: the idea that everything about women’s magazines–the advertising, the stories, the fear-mongering, the celebrity profiles–is airbrushed for effect. As readers, we’re sometimes duped by this false reality. Even the literal meaning of airbrushing is covered a lot in my book–and the blog. Plus, the term truly epitomizes women’s magazines. When we think airbrushing, we immediately think of glossy women’s mags.

My editor thinks there’s an elegance about it–in terms of its relevance, resonance, and ability to have deeper meaning than its literal one. And I hope she’s right. It speaks, also, to a broader ideal that these magazines promote: the airbrushed ideal (whether it’s maintaining ageless beauty, perfect hair, perfect bodies or perfect lives.)

So stay tuned for more women’s mag news, both literal and figurative airbrushing, and all it encompasses. And weigh in on the title change. I’d love to hear your thoughts!

 

P.S. I promise to post like crazy when book revisions are done!

 

Best,

Jennifer

About stilettonation

Jennifer Nelson is a writer working on Stiletto Nation: Inside the Perfumed Pages of the Women's Magazine Industry to be published Fall of 2012 by Seal Press. Stop in and read about the great, the awful and the insane in the fragrant pages of the women's glossies.

Leave a Reply

